I need clothing

“The night’s far gone; the day is at hand.”
~ Rom 13:12

My favorite image in Scripture is the night and day imagery that Paul uses over and over. It explains so well all that I understand of my walk and how I understand us as a community walking together. It is what grieves me as a look around at those outside of the community.

But I stand in daylight, stripped of all the things I want to claim for myself. There is nothing that stands in the way of the gaze of the God of light. And so, I am Adam. I am aware of my shame more than anyone else. He calls my name and I’m aware that I’ve been hiding. And like Adam, He clothes me. I “put on” Christ. I can stand before my God; He is my righteousness.

He is my delight.

Leave a Reply

