Life and Times in the Republic

20140629-103818-38298709.jpg

I’ve been in Texas now for about two weeks. It’s like no place I’ve ever been before. It’s like a really verdant Australia. Even some of the bird calls take me there mentally. The sky is big, and seems tall, like there’s more of it in volume here than anywhere else.

I’m here to start my career as a Chaplain in the US Active Army. I feel as though I’ve been preparing for this for awhile now. And like the Army , my journey here, like the past two weeks has been full of “hurry up and wait.” I’ve been sitting in welcoming briefs, briefs about STD’s, and led to clinics to get blood drawn. I’ve been to my unit twice, but still haven’t really gotten the chance to meet my soldiers.

That doesn’t mean I haven’t been a chaplain, though. I’ve been going through these past two weeks with other officers and enlisted of all chevrons and rockers. The cross on my shoulder automatically leads soldiers to unload their thoughts and fears and joys on me. And I’ve been bearing them all lightly and happily. I’ve gotten to hear stories from the newly minted privates and the officers who have been around for a bit.

I love my job, and that’s why I wanted to pursue this as a full-time career. I cannot wait to see where it leads and how I may be found “useful” to God’s endeavors and plans in the lives of those around me.

Let’s go!

One thought on “Life and Times in the Republic

  1. Warwick, I am so thankful you are here (both selfishly given our locale, but also knowing what you have to contribute to our amazing soldiers). It gives me the warm & fuzzies to hear that simply by seeing the Cross on your uniform, soldiers open up.

Leave a Reply

