Flowers for the dudes

20130305-155338.jpg

I just passed a guy’s cubicle, a coworker, and there was a vase of tulips. We’re not that close as coworkers go so I’m not going to ask about the flowers. And I’d assume that he was taking them home, but they’re not in his cubicle as much as they’re on top of his shelf… as if they’re on display.

Did someone send him flowers, tulips specifically?

I have never gotten flowers. I’m also ok with that.

I just never assume that I’m going to get flowers. I assume I’m the one sending them. Maybe that makes me a bad man of the 21st century.

But there’s the second thought, the display of these flowers. He’s a guy displaying the flowers he received. It’s just different enough to draw attention. But maybe no one else has noticed. And we’re not close enough coworkers to talk about it.

I don’t know how I’d react if I got flowers at work. Knives, or bow ties, food, all these things are ok. I just don’t know how I’d react.

Leave a Reply

