Climb on a back that’s strong

20120927-095850.jpg

“My Dear Lucy, I wrote this story for you, but when I began it I had not realized that girls grow quicker than books. As a result you are already to old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still. But some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again. You can then take it down from some upper shelf, dust it, and tell me what you think of it. I shall probably be too deaf to hear, and too old to understand a word you say, but I shall still be your affectionate Godfather, C. S. Lewis.”
―C. S. Lewis, dedication of LWW

I’m taking the time again to read The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe to the girls at night. I read to Claire and Lily every night, and there is no real order to the stories I read to them. That’s not the point. But we’ve found ourselves back at Lewis’ feet. I think this is the third time I’ve read this to them. I used to read The Chronicles once a year, usually in February, but I’ve found this to be a suitable replacement.

Every time I read this story I walk away so encouraged. I find something new and wonderful every time I read this book, which only happens with the really good books. Last night I left the room in wonder at the line, “Climb on my back.” It’s after Aslan has risen and he’s on his way to the witch’s castle. And he is taking the girls with him! It’s not that the castle isn’t dangerous anymore, but he is going with them, he is taking them there! And the sights they see are utterly transformed because of his presence with them.

Such a wonderful encouragement! When we go with Christ, isn’t he the one leading us? When we go with Christ, it isn’t the danger before us that has the power to persuade, but the presence of “the one who died and is not dead anymore” who gives us courage. Our eyes become open to the wonder of the world in re-creation, and the great despair of those still asleep, and the struggle between the two ever present worlds.

And such a great thing for my girls to hear!

Tonight we’ll get to the part of the start of the battle, but I’m sure the girls will be asleep before we get back to the castle and the freedom that awaits. Maybe I’ll read ahead a bit.

Leave a Reply

