Post #1,713, or Augustine’s Prayer of Praise (eng)

 
“Late have I loved you, Beauty so ancient and so new, late have I loved you.
 
You were within and I without and I sought you there,
hurling my deformity among things you formed fair.
 
You were with me but I was not with you.
Even the things that kept me from you would not have been had they not been in you.
 
You called, you cried out, you conquered my deafness.
You sparkled, you shonem you shattered my blindness.
Your fragrant breath I drew and now I pant for you;
 
I have tasted, not I hunger, now I thirst.
You ahve touched me; enkindled, I burn for your peace.”
Leave a Reply

