Cheating on my Wife and a Poor Excuse for a Hotel Room or How Harry Potter is Putting Strain on my Marriage

I asked Heather yesterday morning if it was ok if I went and saw Harry Potter with someone else. I felt as if I was asking Heather if it was ok to cheat on her. I almost threw up a little in my mouth at that thought.

“Who?” she asked with a little bit too much venom in her voice.

“Well, I was thinking about asking my sister if I could go with her… unless you really wanted to go see it in the thea…”

“Why wouldn’t I want to go?”

“Well, you just don’t seem to want to put the time in.” I have been trying in vain to get Heather up to speed on the movies. She has no interest in reading them (or anything else, for that matter) so I figured the movies would be a great way to include her in something that I love. It’s been a long time coming, though, over the last three years. Between my three jobs and school full-time I’ve been barely had the opportunity to watch them. But, now that we’re both unemployed I thought this would be perfect! So, we started “catching up.”

Heather suffers from cinematic narcolepsy: falling asleep during movies. No matter how much she wants to watch a movie, she just will always fall asleep. One time we tried to watch Star Wars (the real ones, 4, 5, & 6) and she didn’t even make it off of Tatooine. She usually does ok in theaters, but that’s not the point.

The story is the point. Especially in cases like Harry Potter where each movie, though cliffnote-ish they may be, reveals a little bit more of the genius behind it. It just doesn’t seem as if she cares as much about it. It seems as if she would be ok watching it on the TV via Blu-Ray disc, with special features, than spending the money to see it at the movies. I’ve waited to watch the movies with her in the hopes she would watch them in anticipation. But, she just falls asleep.

The timing may be the thing though. We are both agreed that the movies may not be appropriate for our girls to watch (I’d rather have them read them first, anyway) so we have to stay up late to watch them. This is already an advance toward defeat. She needs a fresh mind and early hours.

I have no clue how this is all gonna pan out. What I envision is us going to a midnight show, and paying $12 for what amounts to is a poor hotel room.

2 thoughts on “Cheating on my Wife and a Poor Excuse for a Hotel Room or How Harry Potter is Putting Strain on my Marriage

  1. First of all- great post! I am with Heather on this one, in that I too am horribly behind in the race to keep up with the Harry Potter phenom. Rob loves them, so he has been trying to catch me up, though I’m not sure how successful of a venture that has turned out to be so far.

    Anywho, I was reading the other morning and I think this scripture is for you, Heather and the girls.

    “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose. For those God foreknew He also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of His Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. And those He predestined,He also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.
    “What then shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us?…
    “No, in all these things were are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am convinved that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.
    -Romans 8.28-30, 37-39 NIV

    A fairly obvious truth maybe, but I know that I certainly haven’t fully wrapped my head around it. Hope you guys are well! Blessings

    Cas

  2. Warwick, all I can say is ‘poor Heather’—-ha
    Life must be a TOTAL adventure with you! Never a dull moment, I bet!
    Keep blogging, maybe my next book will be THE ADVENTURES OF WARWICK FULLER!

Leave a Reply

