Kept From Stumbling

Now to him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of his glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen

-Jude v. 24&25

Taken out of context, Scripture can do a lot for you. It can prove your point, it can prove you’re right. It can give false hope, and support false doctrine. “Context is King”, which also includes the context which you are reading from.

Are you aware of your lenses?

I have sometimes even found my own ignorance. I may have read something band thought of someone else and how this line or two would do them well, but missing the part where Scripture is given to me as well. But where is my mind as I read?

I’ve been so encouraged the last couple of weeks. There has been a community of people that God has been using to encourage me in my ministry and I’m grateful for them. And they don’t even know my name. The last three weeks I’ve been in the Sunday services of three different churches and God has used those three men to encourage me, when I really needed it. While some have taken to deriding and actively questioning my ministry experience, these three strangers have bolstered me thru the Word. Three unrelated churches, men, communities have done marvelous things to keep me buoyed.

But I don’t want to think that everyone else in those services were invited to my sermon. I’m not that mislead. I’m sure God is bigger than just my ears and heart. But I’m grateful that I serve a God who does know my need. I’m not as selfish to believe that its all about me and my troubles, but what an encouragement to be bolstered by the general proclaiming of his Word?

I’m also incredibly grateful for the community of people that do know me. There is no greater context to hear the greater Story thru. It’s sad to think thru the steps of us leaving Lafayette, but we’re going to a community that has supported us thru so much. We’re going to miss Lafayette and the friendships we’ve been invited into here. God is good, and He has kept us from stumbling. We just want to be found faithful more than anything else; not afraid of anything except disobeying Him who has called us.

One thought on “Kept From Stumbling

  1. Thanks for your insights. I was at my daughter’s church in Indy Sunday. The message was the difference between happiness and joy. Aren’t we glad that we can still be found joyful even when we aren’t happy! The joy of the LOrd is our strength – as the Word tells us – I like to say it is our ONLY strength.
    Looking forward to more insights from you.
    Blessings…

Leave a Reply

