The worst thing a Pastor could say…

This is from CNN.com:

Reporters who were allowed to ask questions during the broadcast Monday pressed Camping on this issue, but he would not admit that he bore any blame for his followers’ predicaments.

“I don’t have any responsibility. I’m only teaching the Bible. I’m telling … this is what the Bible says. I don’t have spiritual rule over anybody … except my wife as the head of the household.”

Ok, as a pastor, I know I have all kinds of responsibility, especially over how I represent God, His Christ, and His Word.  As a Bible Reader, I’m well aware that Paul stressed the responsibility of the leaders of the church.  What does Camping mean that he has no responsibility over?

Does he mean that he has no responsibility over how others his interpretation (or math) of the Bible?

Does he mean that he has no responsibility over how others react to what he says in his interpretation of the Bible?

Was he just saying this so that he couldn’t be sued by the people and families who left homes and jobs to warn others?

My responsibility as a Pastor is always before me.  It weighs me down, some days, as I pray for others, go through Scripture, and seek to know what He would like us to do next in our community.  It seems odd that this man, who is a self-procalimed self-taught Bible teacher, has never read the parts of that Scripture where it warns of those who say to look for the Messiah here and there, or that we’re to take our role very seriously (1 & 2 Timothy, Philemon, Titus).  Or is that his schtick?  He’s self-taught, so if he gets something right then awesome!  If he doesn’t, then what does he know?  After all, He’s just self-taught.

I will never claim any rights because I am ordained, or because I went to seminary.  Rather, if I deserve anything it certainly is not the mercy I see in that God has called me to be a pastor to His people.  I am definitely aware of the responsibility, and the heavy millstone that awaits me should I ever lead anyone astray.

One thought on “The worst thing a Pastor could say…

Leave a Reply

