The Goal of the Stay at Home Dad. Well, at least my goal.

[6] For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. [7] For one will scarcely die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die— [8] but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. [9] Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God. [10] For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. [11] More than that, we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation. (Romans 5:6-11 ESV)
How easy is it for any of us to forget that Christ died for us, that God would send His Son, not because we have done anything brilliant?  We can do nothing to earn His favor… it’s all unmerited.  He did it because He loves us.  We are valuable to Him.  We are loved by Him.
This always blows my mind!  It’s so contrary to who we are and what we feel like we’re wired to be.
Perhaps a challenging aspect of this is that this is the definition of love (further clarified in 1 John 4:10).  This is the definition for how we are to know what love is, and also how we operate.  I am challenged by this especially now, being a stay at home dad.  I get the weirdest comments: “Kids out with Dad today.  That’s great.”  “Someone’s got their hands full.”  “Is mom sick today?”  Granted, it is not the norm to see a dad out with all the kids and no maternal supervision, but it can annoying after a month.  This past month, these future months, is all about service.  My serving my family in a different role than I’m used to.  Serving my wife so her life can be easy.  What I’m finding is that it’s hard… she’s used to doing certain things, and not used to coming home and finding a puppy.  In my attempts to alleviate her stress I may be causing her more.
I want to be a model of Christ, not so my wife will love me more, but so that she can love Christ more.  There’s going to have to be a couple of things that need to change in both of our heads, preconceived notions, expectations… but I do not want to do anything that would diminish her love for Christ.  I want everything I do to help nurture her, and the girls’, pursuit for godliness.
So how am I doing?
2 thoughts on “The Goal of the Stay at Home Dad. Well, at least my goal.

  1. What a great post.

    My husband feels the same way. He’s not the stay-at-home dad, but if he’s home with the kids and I’m out, it infuriates him when people say “Oh, you’re babysitting while you’re wife’s out?” And he’ll remind them, “No, they’re my children, I’m not babysitting.” The other one that gets him is “Hands on Dad.” He says that fathers that aren’t hands on are just that..they’re fathers, not ‘dads.’

    • Thanks, i appreciate it.

      I really handle the comments better than I let on, i think. I’m truly concerned that I’m setting a good example for my wife and kids. I want my wife to know she’s loved, and my girls to set their sights high when looking for a husband.

Leave a Reply

