Father’s DayReflection 2

Claire is a very funny girl. She swings through emotions with the dexterity of a 13 year old, though only 5. She loves to have a good time, loves to help me out in the garden, but can pull up fears and trepidation in seconds. Some would say irrational, but I would not to downplay the very real thoughts of a five year old. What if she does fall out of her bunk bed? What if there is a monster when you turn the lights off? What if we don’t come back?

It’s better not to confront these things as silly or irrational. It’s better to look at them as they are – fears. In our house we do not try to talk the girls out of being afraid, no matter how ridiculous it might seem. Instead, we talk to God about our fears. We pray against scary dreams, and things that go bump in the night.

Because, truth be told, there are things that go bump, and we should be concerned. But I do not want my girls thinking that fears do not matter. I want them to know that God is sovereign over all things, and that he cares about all of us. At all times.

Perhaps the most important thing I can teach the girls is that I am not superman. That even I am weak. And in my weakness, and in my strength, I rely in God alone.

One thought on “Father’s DayReflection 2

Leave a Reply

