Father’s Day Reflection 1

Claire and Lily love to swing.  It’s up there with candy and dolls.  I think it’s great.  I like to swing, too.  What I find hard to do, though, is swing with them.  Claire and Lily are both now capable of swinging themselves.  It was quite the accomplishment when Lily was able to handle it.  I think we may have had a cake.  But, no matter how capable they are, and no matter how much I remind them as to how capable they are, they want to be pushed.

No matter how much I want swing, I can take no greater pleasure than being able to push my girls.  They love it.  I’m the only one who can push them higher than their legs and arms and swing and pump.  I’m the only one who can get them to “that” height fast enough.

Sure, being a father means I can’t do everything I want.  But it does mean I get to help my girls do what they can to extraordinary lengths.  And there’s no way I would ever go back to just being able to do whatever I wanted.

Leave a Reply

