There are some who will not be served

My first night back at the Robin was good.  Like riding the proverbial bike.  Or scooter.

I was reminded of a couple of things that I had forgotten.

1)  I will inevitably fall with something in me hand.  Last night, It was jsut some napkins.

2) I will spill salad dressing on myself.

3) There are just some people you cannot serve.  It’s a very humbling experience to realize that it it’s your job to serve the public (granted I am expecting a tip for it), and realize that you can do nothing to satisfy them.  It’s not like Peter and Jesus over the washing of the feet.  It’s not that type of pride issue.  It’s another kind.  It’s not because they think it’s unfitting that I serve them.  It’s the type of pride that has expectations of how I should serve them, adn them alone.  They do not care what esle is going on my life, or with the other tables going on around them… It’s different.  I’m being used for their good.  I’m being used up for their enjoyment.  Sometimes, I get upset about it, but then, since I find it impossibel to seperate my vocation from my calling… this is ministry.

4 thoughts on “There are some who will not be served

  1. “Sometimes, I get upset about it, but then, since I find it impossibel to seperate my vocation from my calling… this is ministry.”

    It seems as though it is a ministry unto yourself…yes?

    Matthew 23:11

    But he that is greatest among you shall be your servant.

    Proverbs 29:23

    A man’s pride shall bring him low: but honour shall uphold the humble in spirit.

    • I guess so, in that I am being humble… In that way the Lord is ministering to me, providing opportunities for me to rely on him.

      But, I would like to think that in my humility, I am ministering to my tables. I am demonstrating Chrsit to them; I hope my life is a ministry to anyone I’m around.

  2. Pingback: Kids Fun School» The Chambersburg Tour

Leave a Reply

